Go see…

If you miss a good painting show, go see Live Forever: Elizabeth Peyton at the New Museum. I remember hearing Liz Peyton speak at Columbia University’s Visiting Artist Lecture Series in 2002. She played a Strokes video, said nothing substantive, and generally seemed too cool for school. I was completely turned off and couldn’t enjoy her work for years. But her paintings are just so damn good, I’m a fan again. Her more recent work, portraits of friends done from life rather than from magazine photographs, as her earlier work was, are especially striking: full of life, defying the image of the vapid speaker that I saw six years ago. Each jewel colored portrait is at once feminine and suggestive, precious and bold. With some work, I like it because of the artist. With these, I can’t help myself; I like it in spite of her.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

